Philosophy of BO.

Posted on 29 October, 2008. Filed under: US Elections | Tags: , , , , , , |

As a non-US American, or any other kind of American, my interest at the onset of the US presidential campaigns was to find the dove, rather than the hawk, and even early on the choice was clear. Having satisfied myself on that point, I then started looking at other differences between the two candidates. In the end, it came down to how they view the world.

I concluded that McCain is a Darwinist – embracing a work-your-way-to-the-top, survival-of-the-fittest philosophy. It’s all about me, me, ME! The problem with this being that, no matter how hard you work, how strong you are, there are only room for so many at the top. If you can’t get one of those spots, it’s tough luck, and you probably didn’t deserve to be there in the first place. It doesn’t recognise that your seat on the top perch is dependent on many other people’s sweat, tears, and yes, sometimes even their blood. And without them, your whole palace of cards would just come tumbling down.

Obama, on the other hand, is the guy who organises the community to go and build a neighbour’s barn. (Not as un-American as some would have us believe!) He sees the world and its people as inter-connected and inter-dependent. And it saddens me when I see some so-called Hillary Clinton’s supporters rallying behind McCain. Hillary gave us “It takes a village to raise a child.” This is essentially the same philosophy as Obama’s. I cannot think of a greater betrayal of Hillary than to go and support a man whose philosophy is anathema to everything she stands for! (Not to mention how uttering her name in the same breath as Sarah Palin’s is the biggest insult I can imagine.)

So, do I want to live in a world where it’s each one for him/herself, or in a “one for all and all for one”  world?

Just get me a horse and call me D’Artagnan!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Welcome to my personal soundboard, where I can muse (you might call it ramble on) about things that interest, irritate, infuriate or impress me. In time, I hope this will lead me to understand the meaning of life, the universe, and me.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

